Key Stage 3


The curriculum in Laurelhill Community College is broad throughout all Key Stages but particularly at Key Stage 3 (Year 8 to 10). We believe that all pupils should be given the opportunity to explore a variety of subjects before refining their educational pathway at Key Stages 4 (Year 11 and 12) and 5 (Year 13 and 14). 

Pupils study the core subjects of English, Maths and Science as well as a range of other subjects covering the Arts, Technologies, Humanities and Modern Foreign Languages. In addition to this, pupils are taught Physical Education, Religious Education and Learning for Life and Work which includes Citizenship, Employability and Personal Development.

In Year 8 and 9 all pupils also study IT as a discrete subject with skills being further developed through cross-curricular ICT in Years 8 to 10.

Areas of Learning Subject
The Arts Art & Design
English English Language
Environment & Society Geography
Home Economics
Learning for Life and Work
Prince’s Trust (Year 10 only)
Mathematics Mathematics
Modern Languages French
Physical Education Physical Education
Science & Technology Information Technology
Technology & Design
Religious Education Religious Education